Anna’s first Manicure

I noticed Anna’s sharp puppy nails were getting longer and longer but I was hesitant about trimming them. I have to admit, I hardly have any experience with dog nail trimming and I was afraid, Anna might be like this:

Lately all of us were complaining about scratches on our hands though and I knew it had to be done sooner or later. So I went to the animal shop and bought a nail trimmer.

Back at home I waited until she got very tired and wouldn’t bother much. When she was almost about to fall asleep, I tried and cut off small bits of the nails very slowly and carefully. All Anna complained about was, that she was awoken out of her sleep.
With Anna I can partly see where there is just nail and where the quick starts (the fleshy part), so I cut the nails back bit by bit, while Anna was dreaming about her favourite food.

(Anna still asleep after her manicure)           (Photo of an adult retriever nail)

     

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

